First-timer Can-Yak build

Canoes, Kayaks, Pedal power

Moderator: BruceDow

curt1893

First-timer Can-Yak build

Postby curt1893 » Mon Mar 13, 2017 6:55 am

Hello everyone. This is my introduction to the group. My name is Chris and I currently live just outside of Atlanta. This is my first build, but I have some experience in woodworking. I've built furniture, bookcases, and smaller things, but I've never tried taking on a boat before.

I've had the Can-Yak plans for a couple of weeks now and this weekend I finally started cutting out the frames. I attempted to use some transfer paper to copy the plans onto the wood, but either I didn't press hard enough or the paper is crap, because it didn't take. I ended up making some templates out of poster board that I could then trace. Cut it out with a jig-saw and hand planed it down to shape that matched the plans.

So far so good, but after the first day I only have the bottom cross members and knee boards cut. I have a few projects my wife wants me to complete first (pair of night stands, table top, and an outdoor table) before I can get back into it. I hope to have the boat finished by this summer.
Christopher Curtis

Gayle Brantuk

Re: First-timer Can-Yak build

Postby Gayle Brantuk » Wed Mar 15, 2017 11:09 am

Christopher,

Welcome to our Forum! Glad to hear you're building a Can-Yak and sorry to hear about the transfer paper. It works well on lighter wood, but we recently discovered that for mahogany, it's very hard to see the lines. We are currently awaiting a shipment of BLUE transfer paper that seems to make a much darker line for the darker woods. I think making the cardboard templates is a great idea because then you can place them on the wood to get the best use of it.

Keep us posted on your progress!

chugalug

Postby chugalug » Wed Mar 15, 2017 3:51 pm