Stitch and Glue

Canoes, Kayaks, Pedal power

Moderator: BruceDow

capsaicinrain

Stitch and Glue

Post by capsaicinrain »

I am not sure if this information is on the Glen-L website, but I have a few questions.

Regarding the stitch-and-glue kits, it says "everything needed is included. Does this include the wood? I would hope so because finding good wood would be difficult for some. Also, if it does come with the wood, is it pre-shaped? Because I do not know many people capable of steaming and bending wood if it isn't.

Thanks for any advice I can get.
When reading my posts please don't criticize, I am extremely new to this.

Desert Rat

Post by Desert Rat »

stitch and glue kits do not include any wood. They contain the material to "stitch and glue" the boat together. "click" on whatever stitch and glue kit you are looking at, and you will see what is in that particular kit.

hlucus

Steam bending?

Post by hlucus »

Welcome to the web site. Don't worry about being a newbie. I built my first boat over 20 years ago, and I still think of myself as a beginner because every project is a learning experience. I seem to average about one "stupid" question a day. (Those are the questions where you have to smack yourself in the forehead after you figure out the answer. If you don't like smacking yourself in the forehead, don't even think about building a boat.)

When I read your post, I wanted to ask which boat you are planning to build and where you are located. The odds are good that there is someone on the site who lives near you and can give you some ideas about where to buy lumber.