Lake Hartwell ACBS Show 2018 report

Topics not covered by another category.

Moderator: Bill Edmundson

Brad Tucker

Lake Hartwell ACBS Show 2018 report

Postby Brad Tucker » Thu Apr 26, 2018 9:44 am

After serious consideration, I entered Miss Vonnie into Lake Hartwell's annual ACBS boat show. I was a little nervous about having a home built boat around so many classics, but I should not have been. The Blue Ridge Chapter was so friendly and welcomed me as one of their own. We met so many wonderful and helpful people! It's too long of a story to talk about so I will keep it as short as I can. I helped at the launch dock with some truly vintage boats, and they helped me. I was there to catch a line at the show dock, and so were they. Millionaires and the blue collar, working as great friends. Join your local ACBS if you haven't! On to the show, now. Initially as a late entry, my spot was all the way out on the end of the docks. I was perfectly fine with it, because I have NO experience backing an inboard into a slip. I did start observing others as they did. Thank goodness, because I was out at my boat and this gentleman approached me and asked if I were Brad. I said Yes. Then he said "We are moving you! We have a boat that won't make it!" and he reached down and ripped my placard off the dock. My blood pressure immediately went up, and I told him I have no backing experience. He said "Don't worry! Plenty of people down there to help!" This didn't help my BP because what I heard was "plenty of people watching!" I nervously cranked and eased to the new slip. When I got there, I had plenty of people to help. And watch. Now to add to the pressure, a Chris Craft Sea Skiff was next door, and Miss America IX, the 1930 Farmsorth trophy winner and first boat in history to make 100+mph was across the dock, transom to transom with me. With her owner standing there. I swung Miss Vonnie about, reversed her as I had observed others doing, and she slid right in! As my grandmother