Let's demystify some of these boat finishes

Painting options, interior and exterior.

Moderators: ttownshaw, billy c

Dave Grason

Let's demystify some of these boat finishes

Post by Dave Grason » Fri Oct 30, 2015 7:38 am

As a boat building community, we are all vulnerable to the misinformation that seems to permeate the marine paint industry. We often ask other forum members about bottom paints, topside paints, varnishes and so on. But the paint industry changes methodology and chemical formulas virtually every day. What was the “hot” set up just a short time ago, is now yesterday’s news and there is a new kid in town. All the paint manufacturers have so-called experts touting their products. I’ve always felt that whatever these guys say must be taken with a grain of salt because they are on SOME paint company’s payroll. Therefore, I feel (and notice that I say I FEEL only. I’m not a paint expert) that I’m going to make my best informed decision and if it’s the wrong one, I will have learned. If my choice of paints turns out to be a mistake, then I will pass that information along with no other ulterior motives. By the same token, if my decision proves to be an excellent one, then I can also pass that information along.

As a summer project, I recently repainted my car. I used BASF paint in their R-M line. This is not considered the highest quality paint that BASF makes. But it is certainly the finest paint I've ever used in my life and it was pretty darned expensive. A gallon of base, a gallon of the corresponding clear and the proper reducer knocked over $500 out of my checking account. (YIKES!! :shock:) But I feel, and there’s the phrase I FEEL again, that the man who looks at the cheapest paint available and demands the best finish available is only asking for trouble. We put so much time and effort in to our boat projects and then we cheap out on paint. It’s an irony.