Seaworthy?

A forum for contacting other builders of Ken Hankinson designs. These designs are now a part of the Glen-L family.

Moderators: Bill Edmundson, billy c

Signor72

Seaworthy?

Post by Signor72 » Wed Aug 10, 2016 2:17 am

I'm considering the barrel back designs and am wondering about their seaworthiness. Say upto about 4 or 5 feet of swell. Not because I'd intend to take a barrel back out in that sort of swell but conditions can change quickly and I'm wondering how it would go if I had to bring it home in those conditions.

How would the barrel back design go with a deeper v hull? Has anyone tried? I really like the near vertical bow and don't think that it would be a liability in a 5 foot swell - but of coarse the classic design flattens out towards the aft.

I have some experience in boats upto about 6 to 8 feet of swell in smallish boats without very deep v's so I guess I'm just wondering about the sea character of these particular designs

Bill Edmundson

Re: Seaworthy?

Post by Bill Edmundson » Wed Aug 10, 2016 3:56 pm

Signor

I really would not want to be in 4 to 5 seas in a BB. or really in any of the mahoganies. The boats are strong enough. But, you better be a very good boat handler!

Bill
Mini -Tug, KH Tahoe 19 & Bartender 24 - There can be no miracle recoveries without first screwing up.
Tahoe 19 Build

kens

Post by kens » Wed Aug 10, 2016 4:08 pm

the mahoganies are all inland water boats.
Oak is over rated, everything about it takes extra time; then it warps, splits or checks !!! :roll:

Adrock1

Post by Adrock1 » Wed Aug 10, 2016 4:38 pm

I don't care how deep the vee. 6-8' swells in any small craft are serious business and not conditions that I would ever subject myself to in a small boat.

I know there is a big difference between long well spaced gentle swells and and steep short interval swells but 6-8 feet seas are too big for your typical runabout regardless.

Signor72

Post by Signor72 » Thu Aug 11, 2016 2:58 am