Another Hankinson update

A forum for contacting other builders of Ken Hankinson designs. These designs are now a part of the Glen-L family.

Moderators: Bill Edmundson, billy c

Barry

Another Hankinson update

Postby Barry » Mon Apr 18, 2005 1:11 pm

When we bought the Hankinson domain name, we added this forum to give builders of Ken's plans a place to find help. It hadn't occurred to us that this forum would become a place to swap plans.

For the most part, the boat designers you see advertising in the back of Woodenboat magazine are small businesses, and have limited means to pursue their rights. It is generally "understood" that a set of plans is meant to build a single boat. Although the plans have a physical dimension, what is being sold is information. It would not generally be considered ethical to buy a book, read it and return it. The same applies to plans. Having said that, I am not a lawyer, and I don't know how all of the scenarios mentioned would play out in court.

In the small boat design community, plan sellers depend on the good will of their customers. If you want to be able to choose plans from a diverse group of designers, it is in your interest to see that the designers make a profit. Most small boat designers are hobbyists, who cannot support themselves by selling plans alone. In this respect, Glen-L is the same. We sell boatbuilding supplies in order to be able to continue to design and sell boat plans. Like most designers, this is something we enjoy doing.

As I understand it, Ken wanted to be able travel and to live a life that did not require that he be home to answer questions. I don't know if there is another way in which Ken could have managed this. For the time being, Ken's plans are not available; he has the originals and has not made arrangements with anyone else to sell them. We hope you will be able to find a substitute on our site. That’s why we bought the domain.