Progress on the Titan Tug

A forum for contacting other builders of Ken Hankinson designs. These designs are now a part of the Glen-L family.

Moderators: Bill Edmundson, billy c

slug

Progress on the Titan Tug

Postby slug » Thu Aug 27, 2009 5:36 pm

DSCN0269.JPG
Here's my method for laying out the frames...first lay them out on cardboard, cut each out then trace onto wood. Works well also for the gussets.

DSCN0273.JPG
Here's the assembled frame

DSCN0276.JPG
The frames temporarily assembled on the building form...too cold for epoxy then.

DSCN0276.JPG
The frames temporarily assembled on the building form...too cold for epoxy then.

slug

Re: Progress on the Titan Tug

Postby slug » Thu Aug 27, 2009 5:38 pm

Bear with me folks..this is my first attempt at posting pics.. I'm finally getting the hang of it.
Doug

Bill Edmundson

Postby Bill Edmundson » Thu Aug 27, 2009 6:40 pm

Doug

Looks good to me. An Idea came up the other day on another thread. Lay the skeg lamination parallel to the shaft. Then put narrow strips on each side of the shaft. A tube then can be glassed in. You won't have the long bore!

I have not done this. So, I don't know what I'm talking about!

Bill
Mini -Tug, KH Tahoe 19 & Bartender 24 - There can be no miracle recoveries without first screwing up.
Tahoe 19 Build

slug

Postby slug » Fri Aug 28, 2009 4:49 am

Thanks Bill. I have'nt made much progress during the past 4 or 5 months as I have been extremely busy with work and there was'nt any heat in the new shop yet. I've since retired ( again ) and am going almost full time on the tug. (still some yard work to complete tho). Hope to be installing ply next month. Just picked up the motor... a Kubota 1105 with the panel and bellhousing and adapters to the ZF10 trans. On a roll now! :D :D :D
Doug

carlos bairo

Postby carlos bairo » Tue Sep 01, 2009 2:42 am