Aussie Flying Saucer

Outboard designs up to 14'

Moderator: ttownshaw

Mojo

Aussie Flying Saucer

Postby Mojo » Sun Nov 03, 2013 3:15 am

Hello folks,
I'm only relatively new to around here, but have been checking out the Glen L boats for the past few months. I've come to the conclusion that I'd like to build a Flying Saucer. I'm far more of a sailer then a power boater, but sometimes the practicalities of a power boat are too much to ignore. I built my last boat which was a Colson 8 (8 metres). She was a nice boat and taught me a lot, but ultimately I found it chewed too much money and would cost me all my spare time trying to keep it in shape to race. There was also the hassle of needing a full crew plus the stress of towing. All that took the fun out it, so I sold up and vowed that my next boat would be smaller, cheaper and easier.

http://mojounwin.tripod.com/

So, anyway, back on topic. I've got my timber, epoxy, fiberglass for the Flying Saucer

Timber is hoop pine and the ply is Gaboon
Timber, epoxy, fiberglass, fastners and building form have set me back about $1800 AUD. I've picked up a Johnson 2stroke 35hp for $150 and spent another $50 on rebuilding the carby.

Cheers
Mojo

polarisman14

Re: Aussie Flying Saucer

Postby polarisman14 » Sun Nov 03, 2013 4:41 am

Sounds like you got a killer deal on the engine--I'll be running a Chrysler 35 on mine so they should perform pretty similarly. Is it a 15" or 20" shaft? What length are you making yours? Glad to see you finally took the leap and bought materials for yours. The sailboat came out awesome so I expect no less from your FS.

Mojo

Postby Mojo » Sun Nov 03, 2013 5:05 am