Squirt in CT

Outboard designs up to 14'

Moderator: ttownshaw

mdweber

Squirt in CT

Postby mdweber » Wed Mar 26, 2014 1:46 am

Hello,

A little over a month ago I purchased Pee Wee plans. After a week of work, I decided to scale up to the Squirt. So far I have finished my frames, and will be building the form in the next few days.

A note about me, I graduated from college in December, and have 7 months off before I begin work. In the meantime, I have great opportunity to build work on this boat, and am hoping to make it look as nice as some of the ones I have seen on here!

Question: after allowing my frames to dry following glue and nails, I have a few nails that are not perfectly flush with the gussets. The epoxy has long dried. Should I hammer these in or leave them slightly raised?

Thanks!

gdcarpenter

Re: Squirt in CT

Postby gdcarpenter » Wed Mar 26, 2014 3:58 am

Welcome and congrats on your build start. I would not leave the nails proud, either try to drive them in flush or sand them down. If you don't sooner or later you will 'find' them and say 'ouch'.
This is my first, last and only boat build.

http://www.gdzipbuild.blogspot.com

BarnacleMike

Postby BarnacleMike » Wed Mar 26, 2014 6:52 am

Ditto what GDCarpenter said.

Did you use the silicon bronze nails? If so, I think you'll find them relatively easy to sand down. I've got more than a few screw heads I'm having to sand down / through on my Utility build.

I would recommend sanding your nails then re-encapsulate, as you'll likely sand through some of the epoxy.

Sounds like you've found a near-perfect "life window" to build this thing! Congratulations!

I'll share the biggest lesson I've learned 'round here: Take your time to build each part as accurately as you can. Hurrying through steps will inevitably lead to mistakes. The mistakes are almost always fixable, but will take proportionally far more time to fix than simply taking your time in the first place.