Squirt vs Bingo

Outboard designs up to 14'

Moderator: ttownshaw

Two8nine

Squirt vs Bingo

Postby Two8nine » Tue Jul 11, 2017 8:41 am

Hi Glen L.

I'm looking for some advise here. I'm looking to take a notch off the bucket list and build a boat. Time and supplies (and $$) are on the limited side, so I've settled on a smaller power boat.

My initial choice was the Squirt, but being my first serious project in wood, I've made a number of mistakes that are causing some serious issues. I'm still pretty early, and debating whether to cut my losses and restart rather than be stuck with some seriously shoddy workmanship. I'm thinking I might have bit off more than I can chew for a first project.

The other boat I'm looking at is the Bingo, seems fairly comparable despite being a bit larger. From a near total beginners standpoint, which would you recommend? To me it seems the stitch and glue method is more noob friendly - but I may be totally out to lunch here.

vupilot

Re: Squirt vs Bingo

Postby vupilot » Tue Jul 11, 2017 12:14 pm

Having built from both methods I think both are suited to beginners but I think the framed build is easier once you get the building form setup. Stitch and glue is less precise and I think offers more opportunity to mis-align or build a warp into the boat. Its pretty obvious when something doesnt fit right on a framed up build.

What problems have you run into with the Squirt build? We are here to help.

Two8nine

Postby Two8nine » Tue Jul 11, 2017 1:16 pm

Thanks for the response.