Renegade power options -- what to choose!?

Designs for inboard or outboard power

Moderator: BruceDow

How would you power this boat?

Poll ended at Mon Mar 06, 2006 8:18 am

Single Outboard
No votes
Twin Outboards
No votes
Inboard with Vee Drive
50%
Inboard with Jet Pump
17%
Inboard with Outdrive
33%

Total votes: 6

InHisShadow

Renegade power options -- what to choose!?

Postby InHisShadow » Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:18 am

I am new to boat building, and am embarking on a rather ambitious build of the Glen-L Renegade as my first project.

In trying to plan for the build, I am attempting to determine what type of power to plan for. Since I have little to no knowledge in this area, I thought I would request opinions about how to power this vessle from those of you here that seem to have vast knowledge on the subject! :)

My confusion is that the design states the following about the power:

Power: Outboard power: Single 20" or 25" long shaft motor to 220 hp. Twins may be used as long as the total weight does not exceed 500 lbs. Inboard power: Single stern mounted engine driving through a vee drive, jet pump, or outdrive, 1000 lbs. maximum combined weight.

This wide choice of powering options is one of the reasons I chose this boat. However, I have no clue about what the implications are of the various types of drives, as well as how much power is actually needed to make the boat useable.

The primary use will be as a fishing, leisure boat, that may on occasion pull children or adults on tubes or boogie boards. I do not at this time expect to be pulling a skier.

Any thoughts on this would be greatly appreciated!
Nothing I do can make me worthy of what I have been given.

Bill Edmundson

Postby Bill Edmundson » Wed Mar 01, 2006 3:03 pm

I vote Outdrive. A few hundred dollars buys a new prop., then a top-end boat becomes a ski boat.