Crackerbox fever

Designs for inboard or outboard power

Moderator: BruceDow

narduccimarine

Crackerbox fever

Post by narduccimarine » Tue Oct 31, 2006 5:48 pm

Are there any other Crackerbox builders out there ?
I have been working on mine for almost 2 years now. I started out strong and then slowed down. After seeing Tunahelpers project, I got the bug again and got busy on mine.
I would like to share experiences with any others starting or working on their cracker
Bob
I just don't understand, I cut that plank twice and its still too short
http://www.narduccimarine.freehosting.net

lakeracer69

Post by lakeracer69 » Thu Nov 02, 2006 11:42 am

Hi,

I'm building one in NH. Going with a bobtail drive and 9 degree strut with outboard rudder bracket. I have a 420 HP SB Chevy motor with a hydraulic roller cam. I have just found a new spot to continue building.
I put everything together on the form 2 years ago and it went together like a fine puzzle, now I'm back up and running with a new building location. I hope to have it in the water by next summer.

John H.
As Conan the Barbarian says, " It's not how hard you can hit, it's how hard you can get hit and remain standing".

narduccimarine

Post by narduccimarine » Fri Nov 03, 2006 10:14 am

Hi John
Sounds good. I am using a basically stock 305, just bored .040 and freshened up with a crank grind and new internals. I figure I would like to get the bugs out with a mild motor and get the feel of the boat handling before going for top end. I am shooting for about 55-60 with this setup.
I have a 12 x 13 3 blade to start with. I am also using an outboard rudder and 12 degree angle. I figure I can always pull this motor and replace it with as much power as I can afford any time.
I have the hull finished, glassed and painted. We flipped it over and I am now working on the drivetrain and engine mounts. I wanted to get most of that done and the fuel system installed before adding the deck.