Sapelle vs. African Mahogany

Designs for inboard or outboard power

Moderator: BruceDow

bobinpowayca

Sapelle vs. African Mahogany

Post by bobinpowayca » Wed Jan 23, 2013 4:29 pm

Hi, (I also posted this in the wood section) - I'm ready to buy frame material (deciding on Malahini or Geronimo) so went to the hardwood source here (Frost Lumber in San Diego) - they have available Sapelle in finished 4/4 (25/32 net) and African Mahogany in both 5/4 and 4/4. Both looked nice although the Sapelle had generally much straighter grain and fewer bows.
First thing I noticed is the Sapelle was VERY heavy (like white oak or soaking wet fir) compared to the African Mahogany, which seemed very light weight. The advantage I see for the african mahogany then, is that I can plane the 5/4 down to a net full inch, and still be much less weight than the sapelle. I'm a novice but to me it seems better to have a full inch in frame thickness as far as a better landing for the planking and truer fairing.
The disadvantage (?) is that the african mahogany is way down the hardness list (845 psi), right down there with doug fir, whereas the sapelle is midrange hardness (1500).
Any thoughts on african mahogany or sapelle would be greatly appreciated. I don't think they have the dark phillipine mahogany at this store. Thanks a lot, Bob
Bob

DrBryanJ

Re: Sapelle vs. African Mahogany

Post by DrBryanJ » Thu Jan 24, 2013 3:56 am

I bought 4/4 african mahogany for my frames. Planed on both sides came out to about 7/8 thickness. It is working nicely. Needed 13 ft or longer pieces for keel and stringers and african mahogany was not available so switched to sapelle. It is much heavier and a little harder to cut. Both plan nicely with my hand plane. Haven't tried to bend chines or shears yet. I think both would work fine, but I would use the 4/4 african mahogany due to the weight.

Bryan
Bryan

Building a malahini "Mona Lisa"

My wife said "If I build a boat, she's getting a divorce."