?'s about the Big Hunk

Designs for inboard or outboard power

Moderator: BruceDow

RobB

?'s about the Big Hunk

Postby RobB » Wed Nov 08, 2006 8:57 pm

This is my first build, and although it is not a small project, it is the only only boat I have found that fits my needs and budget. If any one has built this boat please let me pick your brain. My goals are to put it in the Keys and own my own small commercial lobster fishing business. Is it stable enough to put a very small covered steering console in the forward 6' of the boat? Want to keep my instrumentation dry. Also need to put at least a 1000 lb. lobster tank and a work table mid ship, that should offset the small forward cabin. Any ideas, comments, recomendations are very welcome. I do plan on adding the 3' in length it says is possible. Also, marine Douglas Fir is all I can get locally, anything else will add almost a year to my 2 year build projection, any thoughts on DF or suggestions to seal it better is also acceptable. Also any thoughts on the best way to anchor my pot puller. As a newbie I expect some laughs, but I will truely appreciate all help I recieve.
If you don't start heading that way today, tommorrow you won't be any closer to your destination.

RobB

Wow 60 readers, no advice.

Postby RobB » Thu Nov 09, 2006 11:49 pm

Ok I know this is not a plan people are fighting to build so help from people who have built similar style boats is welcome. I just ordered my building boats with plywood, trailer, fiberglass combo from Glen-L. Can't wait to get them. I don't want to order the plans till I'm reasonably sure I can use this design for my purposes. Lots of other questions, but guess I'll wait for a reply on my first post.
If you don't start heading that way today, tommorrow you won't be any closer to your destination.

wdicken

Building the big hunk

Postby wdicken » Sat Nov 11, 2006 4:16 pm