Malahini... Step 1.

Designs for inboard or outboard power

Moderator: BruceDow

Brandlin

Malahini... Step 1.

Postby Brandlin » Sat Jul 23, 2016 9:30 am

Hi,

I'm researching a first (and probably only) boat build. Im a complete novice in boat building but a competent wood worker. My intro, with a little more about me is here...

The boat will need to be capable of carrying 4 although often 2. It will be used near shore in seawater for coastal hopping and occasional forays across a tidal estuary. I also want something that is happy chugging along British river and canal systems where the speed limits are often 6 mph. Think of it as an expensive way of gliding from one riverside pub to the next in style! I'm no speed freak, but everyone wants to put their foot down now and again ;-)

It's possible this may also get occasional use in instructing/supporting my son and his friends / cadet troop in rowing and canoeing...

My build space is limited to an absolute max of 16' X 7'. I've had my head turned by the gorgeous mahogany gentlemans runabouts. I'm a huge fan of wood (insert your own joke here) and I can't imagine wanting to build something that, however practical, doesn't show off some mahogany decking and so on. I think at the sizes I can manage an outboard rather than inboard is the way to go. (Although just having looked at outboard motor prices, I'm appalled! I could buy a car for that!)

That seems to bring my choices to the Zip or Malahini. I've never seen either but from only the pictures here I'm leaning towards the malahini. I prefer the sweep of the shape in plan and prefer the single rather than double cockpit. I'm guessing too that the larger boat is more stable, will provide a more comfortable ride and simply offers more space inside.