Monroe Malahini

Designs for inboard or outboard power

Moderator: BruceDow

Thompson

Monroe Malahini

Postby Thompson » Fri Sep 23, 2016 11:28 am

Just ordered my plans. They haven't come in yet. I've been in commercial construction for over 40 years, I've built just about everything, I'm also a woodworker. I think trying to build a boat is about the most intimidating thing I've every tried. It might be a little bit before I get started. Got a few homeowner maintenance things to get behind me. I'm glad there is the forum. I'm sure I'll have lots of questions. I'll try not to be a pest.

rbrandenstein

Re: Monroe Mahalini

Postby rbrandenstein » Fri Sep 23, 2016 8:29 pm

Welcome to the Malahini builders club. You will find lots of information and help on this forum. It is not that hard, just take your time, read and understand each step before you begin. Make sure you get the building with plywood book as well.

Iggy

Postby Iggy » Wed Sep 28, 2016 7:23 am

Malahini's a fantastic boat.. the process of building (and now owning/operating) one is both a cherished memory and and a yearly pleasure. I also work in construction but was NO woodworker before starting my build. You'll do fantastic I am sure.. this forum is a godsend when it comes to questions and references. Part of the fun is the mental process your brain goes through agonising over the next step and overall desired results. Build a good strong stand.. get your materials... make your first cut.. sand like there is no tomorrow.. glue like nobody is watching.. and remember to invest in a good pair of tweezers... you'r going to need it ;)
Ian (aka Iggy)
My Malahini Build

Thompson

Postby Thompson » Mon Oct 10, 2016 7:33 pm

Thanks Bob and Ian for the welcoming words.
I have a question, the plans call for ring nails to be used on the frames. I was thinking screws would be better, or easier to install. Or since there are epoxied does it make a difference. The first of many questions I'm sure. Thanks

DrBryanJ