Seeking Information & Assistance

Designs for inboard or outboard power

Moderator: BruceDow

Mr_Big_J

Seeking Information & Assistance

Postby Mr_Big_J » Wed Aug 02, 2017 8:37 pm

Good Evening All,

My name is Jason, from Western Montana. I am looking at building a boat, and need some opinions/information/assistance in selecting the appropriate plan. Obviously, only I can pick the plan I like, but I do have some set criteria I need to meet, so I'd welcome some opinions on which boat to build out of the several I like.

First off, my experience. I work in I.T. and Communications. I have limited wood working knowledge, but have regularly tackled several home improvement type projects. I know how to properly use basic tools, and basic wood working tools such as a table saw, skill saw, etc. I also have some experience building some fiberglass and carbon fiber objects, so I plan on building the boat with wood and/or fiberglass. I don't know a ton about boats, but I owned a 70's or 80's Glastron back in the late 90's that had an inline 6 motor connected to a sterndrive. It was in pretty bad shape, and my brother and I fixed it up a little and used it for a few seasons.

So, I'll start off by saying that I'm open to any design that fits my criteria, I literally have 20 or 30 Google Chrome tabs open, each one a Glen-L boat that I like. The following is a list of criteria the boat must meet:

1) Easily and comfortably hold 6 people. I have a family of six, and it's not a family boat unless we can all use it together. At the moment, we weigh 1,000 pounds all together. After the weight of the boat, motor, fluids, equipment, etc., the boat should be able to comfortably carry 1200 to 1300 pounds (in case one of the kids friends comes along).