need advice on choosing a build

Designs for inboard or outboard power

Moderator: BruceDow

Woody

need advice on choosing a build

Postby Woody » Fri Apr 27, 2007 8:48 am

I have been dreaming of building a boat for a while now, and now that the shop is nearing completion (40 by 60), I think I am about ready to tackle it. I would like to build a boat that I can take the family out in (possibly tubing when the kids are older) or take a couple fishing buddies on. Either way, I want a safe and as spacious a boat as I can build. Most of the lakes here are fairly shallow, and that may or may not be too much of a factor in choosing the design. I am a fairly accomplished woodworker, have my own sawmill, and I'm pretty mechanically inclined. I am looking for advice on what you guys think about building "the first boat". I don't have much experience with boats, and wonder if tackling a larger sized boat will just be too much. Thanks for any input.

Nova SS

Postby Nova SS » Fri Apr 27, 2007 11:07 am

larger size as in above 20 feet?

basilkies

Postby basilkies » Fri Apr 27, 2007 3:03 pm

Since you have a sawmill the first thing I would do is find out which local woods are best for boatbuilding, cut some up and start drying it.

The difficult part about choosing a boat is determining the difference between how you think you will use it from the reality of how it gets used. Since we're talking lake here, you most likely will mostly have two to three people in the boat most times. That's because once you've gone around a lake there's little point in packing everyone in and doing it again.

So, that leaves you with a person tubing out back and another person in the boat with you and everyone else playing on shore. I'd say you could do pretty well with a 17 to 18 foot boat with something like a 90 horse on it. Your going to want very little vee in the hull, because lakes are pretty calm and a flatter bottom is more efficient in calm water.