Waterlodge Too questions

Designs for inboard or outboard power

Moderator: BruceDow

Po'boy

Waterlodge Too questions

Post by Po'boy » Mon Feb 11, 2019 5:07 pm

By the end of the week I hope to have my plans here at the hacienda. These questions may seem a bit premature as I haven't seen the plans yet but I must admit, I'm anxious to get started.
1) I realize that the HP requirements are small for this boat. What I has in mind was perhaps a small2.3 or 3.0 merc with a mercruiser outdrive. Our old drifter houseboat had an outboard and neither my wife or I want to hear an outboard while we slowly cruise some of the rivers and lakes in our area. I was hoping the inboard would be less noise and hopefully less vibration. The visual aspect of not having it back there is also appealing to me. I have no experience with these types of engines except to say that I read they are easy to work on and fairly inexpensive to maintain. I've also found a few donor boats on CL with the motor an OD for under $500 in the Atlanta area. Feel free to tell me if I'm nuts and an outboard would be the way to go. Like I said, we plan on some river trips and I can't see where we would be traveling to quickly at all. We just want to cruise slow, take in the sights and have the least engine noise while doing it.
2) Since it's a flat bottom box of sorts, is stretching it to 28' a stretch (pun intended)?
Thanks for any input. I fabricate with aluminum all day but my experience in wood is limited.

hoodman

Re: Waterlodge Too questions

Post by hoodman » Tue Feb 12, 2019 5:56 pm