Glen-L.com

The Boatbuilder Connection
It is currently Mon Sep 15, 2014 2:26 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2009 11:29 am 

Well I took the plunge and ordered the plans and temples for the Atlantic skiff today! I’m very excited and quite nervous all the same time. On one hand I think I can knock this thing out in 6 to 8 months, on the other hand I think I might not have a clue what I just jumped into. But I have set a goal to finish this boat by 5/22/10. That’s not a lot of time for a project this big, but I will be getting married a month after that, our reception is going to be on the lake and it would be nice to cruse my beautiful bride away in my dream boat. I have never built a boat before, but I do have carpentry experience. I studied carpentry in high school and in collage, after collage I did carpentry until I went back to school to study mechanical engineering. So I have a little bit of confidence under my belt, but there is always room for concern. I wish someone else has built this same exact boat so I could see how things panned out, but there are a lot of good builds on this site to give me ideas and inspiration. I will keep yall updated every step of the way. I guess now I need to go home and prep my shop for this boat building voyage. I know ill have plenty of questions along the way, so I hope yall don’t mind helping me out. :D

PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2009 11:36 am 
Glad you made the jump.

We are looking forward to your progress....post pics and ask questions.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2009 5:16 pm 

How much time can you devote to the project? If you can go full time, then yeah, you can finish it, but if you're like me and have a job requireing overtime at work, then it will get slowed down.
My boat is very similar to Atlantic Skiff, and I love it.

PostPosted: Fri Aug 14, 2009 5:54 am