Getting ideas down on paper

Questions about modifying a design

Moderators: ttownshaw, billy c

Dave Grason

Getting ideas down on paper

Postby Dave Grason » Fri Nov 13, 2015 8:41 pm

gap998 wrote:Dave,
...It is quite time consuming though so for a colour scheme I would go for just a 2D line sketch & colour it up.

I thought that you had a good idea. I'd just draw up what I had in my head and post the drawings up here. For me personally, I am a less is more sort of person because I firmly believe that ALL of Glen's designs were done by a PROFESSIONAL boat designer. SO, this means that guys like me, who are NOT pros, must be very careful not to mess up what is already beautiful. I think that people who are not in the business, really do not often understand the very fine balance between something that is pleasing to the eye and something that is out of balance.

Now, I need to say that I’ve been a pretty good artist when it comes to drawing some things. But I gotta tell you that, after this little design exercise, I can firmly say that boats are a real pain to draw!! OMG, my drawings have so many eraser marks on them that I can’t believe the paper is not worn through. However, for what it's worth, here are some of my ideas on paper. Please forgive my sloppy artwork. Honestly, I spent way more time on these than I would have ever thought. I'll explain each drawing as I go along.

The first one is of a Mist Miss. I have ALWAYS felt that this design is very underappreciated. There are just so few of them that have been built. It seems that an overwhelming number of new boat building enthusiasts gravitate towards other designs and completely fail to notice this inboard. And yet, I've always felt that the Malahini is so close as an outboard version. And the Malahini is VERY popular.