General design question about sailboat decks

Questions about modifying a design

Moderators: ttownshaw, billy c

jbwood

General design question about sailboat decks

Post by jbwood » Wed Feb 03, 2016 12:48 am

Hello,

I'm pretty new to the realm of boats, so I happen to have a bunch of dumb questions about design and I'm happy to share this one with you. :D

In all the movies (yeah yeah, remember I'm new) with sailboats (often pirate and military), there's a cabin in the back and a big outside open area in the front and midship. On the sailboats I see in pictures and real life, there's an itty-bitty outside area in the back of the boat and most of the deck is taken up by a row of windows covered with a roof. To get to the front, though I see little point in doing so because of the lack of room in the front, you have these itty-bitty walkways on the side. When I went on a boat myself and had to walk around the boat (it was in drydock) I felt like I was about to fall off.

That doesn't seem like a nice way to spend my day outside on a boat, being crammed into a tiny area where you can only sit. There's not even enough room (from what I can tell) to have a small picnic table. I wonder, "What's the point?" but my question is, "Why can't boats have a bigger open area on the outside so you can actually have room to move about and enjoy the outside?"

- Jeffery
Jeffery

garrech

Re: General design question about sailboat decks

Post by garrech » Wed Feb 03, 2016 4:06 am