Modified JET Squirt - Final Draft of the design

About using jet ski motors to power small boats

Moderator: Bill Edmundson

chappo1970

Modified JET Squirt - Final Draft of the design

Post by chappo1970 » Thu Sep 06, 2007 12:22 am

Still putting the final touches to my modified squirt design with a jet. The main hold up at this stage is to secure a good doner jet ski so that I can get the engine bay, transom and boat length/dimensions sorted out before the build starts.

I work in construction and have learnt over the years that solid a plan/blueprint for a project is paramount to its overall success. Considering I want to modify the design, initially at the transom, but now creating a jet powered cross bred it is more critical.

I thought I might step thru my design thoughts. I initially wanted it for the kids (2 and 6) but I soon realised I wanted it for me and the kids (to run shotgun). Firstly what did I want it for?
1. Family hell raising fun.
2. Something speedy really speedy.
3. Maybe something to race.
4. I wanted it to look the part.

Right from the start this boat was always going to be fully fibreglassed and 2 pack painted with plenty of airbrush art. I intend to round all the edges around the hull except for the transom. I want it to look like a one piece fibreglassed hull without all the seem rubbers, chrome trims etc that commercial builder use.