Dyno Jet

About using jet ski motors to power small boats

Moderator: Bill Edmundson

FFR

Dyno Jet

Post by FFR » Thu Jul 17, 2008 10:32 pm

Hello,

I have a line on a 650cc Jet Ski motor. My son and I would like to build
a Dyno Jet. I built a Picklefork some years ago.
My question is: Stich and Glue contruction. The photos I have seen
show the hull being built before the framing. Is this a simple
construction method compared to framing first? I am not a woodworker
by trade or hobby. The Picklefork turned out OK, but could have been better. I want this projct to be out A1. Any advice would appreciated

Sincerely,

Doug and James

leakcheck

Post by leakcheck » Fri Jul 18, 2008 4:58 am

Doug and James,

You will get some great answers here as a few have built the Dyno Jet.

I hope to one day build it as well, I have a Yamaha 701 motor already.

From everything I have read the Stitch and Glue method is much easier and much much quicker than building on frame.

Look through some of the pictures and wait a couple of days and some of the Dyno Jet guys will chime in...if not...PM them and they will surely share their knowledge with you.

We love pictures so keep us posted !!

Steve :wink:

DanH

Post by DanH » Fri Jul 18, 2008 7:57 am

Stitch and glue is a fast and forgiving building method compared to plywood on frame. The hull shape is defined by the careful bending of panels and not a preconstructed frame.

marksa1458

Post by marksa1458 » Sat Jul 19, 2008 12:10 pm

I built with the stitch & glue method. It is amazing how quickly a few pieces of wood look like a boat. But... there is nothing quick about building a boat. I remember bringing the wood home in the spring and thinking I would be finished by summer's end. It took me about 3 years to "finish" my boat (not quite done, still fine tuning)