Undecided from Canada

Here is where we get to welcome all new members.
New members please include your location - Other members close to you may be of great help in locating materials and other needs.

Moderator: Bill Edmundson

AHOD

Undecided from Canada

Postby AHOD » Fri Mar 11, 2016 8:43 pm

Hi All,
Scott here in Ontario Canada,
I'm trying to navigate my way through a lot of information both on the Glen-L sit, and the rest of the on-line world.
I've grown up with boats in my life, and my family currently owns a few (16' pontoon, 23' Doral Tara). We have 3 kids (6, 4, and 2) that would certainly love to have a hand in creating/finishing anything to do with a boat! I am by no means an expert woodworker/finisher etc, but I know my way around a workshop.

I am somewhat torn as to which direction to go: building my own, or refinishing something already built.
On 1 hand, creating my own means everything is new and I know it inside and out. On the other, refinishing something that just needs my mark put on it, means we can enjoy it sooner (which with 3 kids is a factor).
So, if I build my own, I really love the look of the Tuffy. It can fit all 5 of us, but is still small enough to bring pretty well anywhere. Having said that it feels like S&G might be "easier" for a first time builder (even though from reading through posts, most argue they're about the same as framed versions). In which case the Dyno Mite looks nice, but at the sacrifice of only seating 1-2, when there's 5 of us. And truthfully, the last thing I want to do is get 1/2 way in to find I'm in way over my head.
Now looking at the refinishing a previously created boat has pros and cons, if I find the right boat, I feel like we could enjoy it this summer and then refinish it over the winter. But I could also run into a lot of rot, replacing boards (most of the woody's I've seen are cedar strip) etc, which I have zero experience with.