Utter noob from Chester UK

Here is where we get to welcome all new members.
New members please include your location - Other members close to you may be of great help in locating materials and other needs.

Moderator: Bill Edmundson

Brandlin

Utter noob from Chester UK

Postby Brandlin » Thu Jul 21, 2016 6:53 am

Hi

I think the title of this post says it all. When it comes to boat building I'm an utter noob, I learned the words "chine" and "sheer" this week and my boating experience is limited to canoeing in scouts years ago, and car ferries.

"What the hell are you doing here then?" I (metaphorically) hear you cry.

Well, I'm a competent woodworker having rebuilt my house and numerous other projects like guitar building, bow building and a range of furniture. I'm looking for a next project and a challenge. I live on a section of the North Wales coast and yet hardly go to the sea and haven't explored the Dee estuary, river Dee or the local canal network.

It seemed like a good match to put the two together and build my own boat!

So after a few happy hours reading various websites, books and YouTube, I'm considering mahogany style runabouts but think that an outboard is more feasible for me than an inboard. My building space consists of part of a garage so I'm limited to an absolute maximum of 16' long and a 7' beam (boat has to exit a single garage door). So, from the Glenn L designs I think that's a "zip" or a "malahini"?

I'm a big unit! 6'4" (1.93m) and around 230lb (100kg). I want something I can be reasonably comfortable in and probably build seats with better support for my rugby-knackered back. Be nice if I didn't look like an adult sat in a kids boat too! Family is just three, but be nice to get four adults in it in some comfort for occasional forays.