New Member from Georgia

Here is where we get to welcome all new members.
New members please include your location - Other members close to you may be of great help in locating materials and other needs.

Moderator: Bill Edmundson

Jim B.

New Member from Georgia

Postby Jim B. » Fri Nov 18, 2016 5:21 am

Hello everyone, new member from Georgia checking in. I just want to say how impressed I am with the craftsmanship on this forum. I don't have immediate plans to build, I've been told that boat building goes on the list right after the roof, workshop, kitchen, and backyard landscaping. But a man can dream!

My day job is electrical engineering, and I've been toying with woodworking some in my spare time. Though I'm not good at yet it and only have a carport to practice in. But I like the challenge.

I am most interested in the Tahoe plans, I love the lines of that boat. And I was floored by the Yon'e 22 custom that I saw on youtube. I wish I could get ahold of some sketches from that build.

I am curious though about the Zip. It seems to be the most popular build by far. Is there any reason for that? Low material bill, simple construction, etc?

Roberta

Re: New Member from Georgia

Postby Roberta » Fri Nov 18, 2016 6:25 am

Welcome aboard!!! The Zip is very popular. It is a great first build for anyone looking for a great 2 plus 2 boat that is both economical and easy to build. It is a great canvas for those looking to give it a classic woody boat look.

Roberta :D
Roberta "Queen of the Boat Builders"
Built Zip "Oliver IV", Super Spartan "Jimmy 70", and Torpedo "The Glen L".

Dave Grason

Postby Dave Grason » Fri Nov 18, 2016 8:56 am

And it has spritely performance. I call it the little British sports car of the lake. (I once joked around about painting my Zip British Racing Green with a yellow stripe up the middle so that it would look like a Lotus. LOL)