Hello from Texas

Here is where we get to welcome all new members.
New members please include your location - Other members close to you may be of great help in locating materials and other needs.

Moderator: Bill Edmundson

JiminTex

Hello from Texas

Postby JiminTex » Mon Jul 10, 2017 6:50 am

Hello to all, I am Jim Patterson, I live in Spring Branch,Texas, I am a disabled retired Police Officer from NYPD from 9/11/01. I am very interested in building a either Coastal Cruiser, True Grit or Go Big or go Home Klondike for retirement. I feel my calling to the sea was missed and now that I have my health back, I Like the Idea of spending a lot of time on the water, since kids are moving on to college and life. I don't want to be stuck in a house looking at the walls.. I like the Idea of a trailer-able boat and I also like the Idea of a larger boat to live on. I have always been Called RADAR since I was able to come up with ideas and equipment to make my former job work. I am stuck with a pacemaker so welding is not the best thing for me, I don't want to flounder on the ground after shorting myself out....LOL . So wood is my speed. I am still deciding since my height is 6'3 and I have always been a big guy. I once went on a Sea-ray and almost got stuck in the doorway.....Kept hitting my head and my hips where to wide....LOL. I am looking for ideas for a week end boat and daily boat to spend fishing in the Gulf. But it must have head clearance and hip clearance..... This forum has enlightened me to all the problems and over coming's that you get with building a boat. I look forward to posting my work once I pick out a vessel.

mrintense

Re: Hello from Texas

Postby mrintense » Mon Jul 10, 2017 5:55 pm

Hi Jim,