Greetings from the Boston Marathon start!

Here is where we get to welcome all new members.
New members please include your location - Other members close to you may be of great help in locating materials and other needs.

Moderator: Bill Edmundson

Shelboss

Greetings from the Boston Marathon start!

Postby Shelboss » Tue Dec 19, 2017 6:43 am

I am a 63 old mechanical engineer that build a Glen-L Tiny Titan with my Dad back in 1967. I then got into cars and motorcycles once I got my license. Just finished building a Cobra replica last year, need another project, and wanted to get back to the boat I miss so much! But I need something more comfortable than an 8 foot hydroplane, so I started looking at restoring a Chris Craft Barracuda. My friend on the lake where I had my hydro had one with a 50 hp Merc that I always loved. These boats are not very available and weren't necessarily built the way I want it, but in searching plywood runabouts I came across some of the wonderful Zip's that have been built! And unlike 1967, resources like this forum really allow me to learn from your experiences, and pass on my own thoughts and experiences. I have plans in hand and have scaled the templates and modeled them in CAD. I then modified the transom and #2 frame to incorporate a long shaft motor into the design, I am picking up the 1-1 plots today. But more on that later, thanks for being there for me team Zip!
Art

JoeM

Re: Greetings from the Boston Marathon start!

Postby JoeM » Tue Dec 19, 2017 7:35 am

I'm not part of "Team Zip" (Awesome group name, you should get shirts made! :lol: ), but want to welcome you to this community!

Sounds like a great project and I look forward to following along!
Check out my project and blog! http://fv-escape-hatch.com/project

PeterG

Postby PeterG » Tue Dec 19, 2017 8:17 am