Here is where we get to welcome all new members.
New members please include your location - Other members close to you may be of great help in locating materials and other needs.

Moderator: Bill Edmundson

Redhawk

Post by Redhawk » Fri Dec 29, 2017 11:51 am

Hi,

My name is Mike and I will be retiring in about five months. I'm retiring to a resort community with several 400 to 900 acre lakes. I am new to boat building. My previous skill set includes basic carpentry such as framing, window installation and deck building. I am drawn to the beauty of classic mahogany runabouts. I'm looking forward to spending several hours per day working on a build project. I'm open to suggestions about how to get started threw reading, emailing and internet searches. Thanks for taking the time to read my post.

Mike Robinson

Corning, Iowa

Bill Edmundson

Re: New Member

Post by Bill Edmundson » Fri Dec 29, 2017 1:45 pm

Mike

Welcome! You can do this. All the mahoganies are pretty much built the same way. Look at my link below. It is pretty much a step-by-step. Many builds have been better than this. But, this does work as a how-to.

Bill
Mini -Tug, KH Tahoe 19 & Bartender 24 - There can be no miracle recoveries without first screwing up.
Tahoe 19 Build

JoeM

Post by JoeM » Fri Dec 29, 2017 1:59 pm

Welcome Mike! And Congratulations on your soon to be retirement! That resort community sounds pretty great.

I would purchase a few books from Glen-L to get you started. Boatbuilding with Plywood, Inboard Motor Installation, and the New Cold-molded Boat Building. I personally didn't purchase the cold-molded book as I already have a design in mind(the True Grit) and cold molded was not needed. I also purchased the Boatbuilders workbook so I can have a reference book on hand while building.

Getting the Propeller Handbook by David Gerr is commonly suggested as well.