New member from Pennsylvania

Here is where we get to welcome all new members.
New members please include your location - Other members close to you may be of great help in locating materials and other needs.

Moderator: Bill Edmundson

Jonlax

New member from Pennsylvania

Postby Jonlax » Fri Feb 16, 2018 10:53 pm

Would like to introduce myself. I'm currently new to boat building but hold a lot of knowledge that I hope would help me with a proper build. I'm a full time master ASE/GM technician and part time "unplugged" furniture carpenter that does dabble in power tools from time to time.

As of right now I have only owned 1 boat which was a fiberglass Chris craft that I sold about 6 years ago. I would love to have another but fiberglass doesn't fit my taste and wooden boats that are finished are out of my immediate budget due to either needing full rebuilds and a high price tag.

What I am after is plans for a run about that I can deck and build with the beautiful wood I regularly purchase and mill. Can be built to accept an I/O power train and be under 20 feet, 18 to 20 being ideal. I have a lot of great waterways around me and would go into brackish water from time to time but the boat wouldn't sit in the water after use.

Thanks and I look forward to learning and building.

hoodman

Re: New member from Pennsylvania

Postby hoodman » Sat Feb 17, 2018 8:13 am

The Roustabout comes to mind as an io design in that size range. You'd have more options if you opened it up to v-drives and mid mounted inboards. Being a mechanic you should easily be able to figure out any of those options. The modern io drives have gained a lot of weight since these boats were designed.

Bill Edmundson

Postby Bill Edmundson » Sat Feb 17, 2018 8:19 am

Jonlax

Welcome. Just to save Neel Thompson time :) , Where in PA?

http://www.boatdesigns.com/17-Roustabou ... ducts/253/

Bill
Mini -Tug, KH Tahoe 19 & Bartender 24 - There can be no miracle recoveries without first screwing up.