New member from Oklahoma

Here is where we get to welcome all new members.
New members please include your location - Other members close to you may be of great help in locating materials and other needs.

Moderator: Bill Edmundson

WilliamC

New member from Oklahoma

Postby WilliamC » Mon Aug 20, 2018 3:45 pm

hello I'm a new member from Oklahoma. My name is Bill. I'm not new to boat building or about anything that has to do with marine in general. Just new to this forum. I have built boats and barges from steel and wood. My trade is a heavy equipment mechanic. And it would be way easier to tell you where I haven't worked in my 40 year career than where I have worked. I am wanting to build a cruiser type of boat. I will build the hull from steel as I have extensive experience building with steel. My problem is I want a hull that is a displacement hull but I want two things that glen L offers but in two different boats. I like the size of the coastal cruiser, but it's small on beam and length for me. I would like to see a boat about 28" to 30' in length and about 10' of beam in steel so do I resize a coastal cruiser. Or shrink a Union Jack. Now comes the fun part I still want to be able to trailer it. I know that size beam would need a permit and that's not a problem. What I want to do is use this for coastal cruising along the gulf and maybe around the south loop around Florida. And maybe into the Bahamas. I own a house and large shop in north central Oklahoma. And a house with boat dock in in southwest Louisiana. I have about two years before I retire and would like to do some cruising when I retire. Bill

hoodman

Re: New member from Oklahoma

Postby hoodman » Mon Aug 20, 2018 4:19 pm