Hello and boat selection

Here is where we get to welcome all new members.
New members please include your location - Other members close to you may be of great help in locating materials and other needs.

Moderator: Bill Edmundson

FL-John

Hello and boat selection

Post by FL-John »

Hi forum. I’m a long time lurker. I’m about to pull the trigger on ordering boat plans so I thought I should introduce my self and ask the final questions.

So introductions... I’m John. I sell software for a living and like to build stuff for fun since work doesn’t actually produce anything tangible. I live in Tampa (technically Wesley Chapel) Florida with my wife and three kids, 17,12 and 9. I’ve been looking at Glen-L boats and dreaming about building a “classic” boat for nearly 15 years. The fiberglass always put me off so to educate myself I built a 24” model sailboat that was fiberglass on balsa and a 16’ stitch and glue kayak. Both came out beautiful so I’m ready to bite the bullet and take on a big boat. A pic of the kayak is attached below.

The Barrelback is what caught my eye and started this crazy obsession and would be my ideal boat but my build space is limited. I have a three car garage but my wife is not willing to park outside. The short, one car, bay that has been my shop is only 19’ deep. I’ll be able to utilize all but one bay of the full garage so diagonally, the boat will fit but I’m likely to have less than 2’ on either end. Am I insane for even considering this?

The other options, in order of preference, would be
1. The 18’ Biscayne. It seems to have more passenger space but lacks the Barrelback and really doesn’t buy me much room.
2. A smaller outboard boat. To be honest I’m scared to death of the inboard installation and set up but if I’m going to do this I might as well go all in and get what I want.
3. The Gentry. I have 3 kids so I’d really like more passenger room than this boat provides but it is beautiful and would fit easily.