Hi All!

Here is where we get to welcome all new members.
New members please include your location - Other members close to you may be of great help in locating materials and other needs.

Moderator: Bill Edmundson

worldmac1

Hi All!

Postby worldmac1 » Sun Dec 28, 2008 2:40 pm

Let me first say that I am glad I found this site! I am new to boating and even newer to building one. I bought my first boat 2 years ago and I absolutely love it. I go down to the marina 35 miles away every chance I get including to just sit on the stern and feed the ducks.

I have just a minor bit of experience working with wood. I mean, I know how to measure, cut, and fasten pieces together, but knowing what type of materials is the catch.

I'm assuming that Lowes or Home Depot do not carry marine grade lumber...sooo....where can I purchase the materials? Does Glen-L have the kits with all wood, epoxy, fasteners, and plans included?

I look forward to working with you guys, and can't wait to get started.

Hope everyone has a safe and Happy New Year.

Bill Edmundson

Postby Bill Edmundson » Sun Dec 28, 2008 3:00 pm

worldmac1,

Welcome!

The big box stores may have frame material. But, marine ply is the real problem. Please add to you profile where you are located. Others can help you locate suppliers. Just today went and looked at exterior ply for a minor build. Too many voids!

It's an on going problem for me.

Bill
Last edited by Bill Edmundson on Sun Dec 28, 2008 6:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Mini -Tug, KH Tahoe 19 & Bartender 24 - There can be no miracle recoveries without first screwing up.
Tahoe 19 Build

Brian Eager

Postby Brian Eager » Sun Dec 28, 2008 3:12 pm

Welcome to the forum!