New Glen-L 14 Build

Dinghies, day sailers, world cruisers. Many small sailboats make ideal rowboats or low-speed power boats.

Moderator: BruceDow

aspags88

New Glen-L 14 Build

Post by aspags88 » Thu Sep 29, 2016 6:09 pm

First a bit of an introduction. I'm an mechanical engineer by trade with a love for the outdoors and very little sailing experience. I've spent the past couple years building out my Jeep for off-road use and consider that project done which left a hole for hobbies that get my hands dirty making things. After some consideration and a desire to spend more time out on the water I decided I would attempt to build a boat.

I settled on the Glen-L 14 after some consideration of available space to build/anticipated price/local lake sizes/ and my thoughts on a good size boat to learn on. I bought the plans and the boatbuilding with plywood book early this year and have been reading through the book studying the plans.

I'm finally ready to go pick up the first wood order to start building up the frames. I'm anticipating this will be a relatively slow process for me but the goal would be to build up the building form sometime in the spring. I opted to start a build thread in hopes that it will force me to take pictures along the way. This is by far the biggest project I've taken on (unless of course you count home ownership haha) and want to make sure I capture the process along the way.

AJ

Gayle Brantuk

Re: New Glen-L 14 Build

Post by Gayle Brantuk » Fri Sep 30, 2016 8:11 am

AJ,

I'm so glad you'll be sharing your Glen-L 14 build with us. That's a beautiful design and a great sailor. Enjoy your build!

Stuart

Post by Stuart » Sun Oct 02, 2016 8:16 am

We always like pictures.

Stuart

Rational Root

Post by Rational Root » Mon Oct 03, 2016 3:33 am

This may be of some help...

http://davesboat.blogspot.ie/

It details my build of a glen l 14 from start to finish

perhaps start with the oldest posts, and work forwards...