Mast support pole in cabin of Glen-L 17

Dinghies, day sailers, world cruisers. Many small sailboats make ideal rowboats or low-speed power boats.

Moderator: BruceDow

EWeitzel

Mast support pole in cabin of Glen-L 17

Post by EWeitzel » Fri May 05, 2017 9:46 am

I am considering buying a Glen-L 17 Overnighter. One thing that bothers me is the mast support pole that is right in the middle of the bunk. I have seen other boats that do not have this. Usually the mast is over a bulkhead, very near the front cabin wall, or has some special carbon fiber reinforcement. I am thinking a retrofit to eliminate the pole is possible. I have no experience with boat building, but have some carpentry experience in house building. In a house an unsupported load would be carried by girder, beam or header. I am wondering if something similar could be devised to eliminate the pole. Perhaps some plywood strips on edge cut to fit the roof. Perhaps several strips laminated together, maybe laminated with carbon fiber, attached to and supporting the roof under the mast. This mini beam hopefully would not be that deep, as the headroom in the cabin is already pretty tight. Plywood is pretty strong when set on edge. I have seen floor beams made of 1/2" plywood set on edge that had virtually no deflection, whereas a 2x10 could be deflected with a crowbar or other lever. I am hoping some combination of plywood strips laminated together, and perhaps also laminated to carbon fiber cloth. filleted to the roof under the mast could substitute for the mast support pole and only be less than a couple of inches. Has anyone successfully eliminated the mast support pole in a Glen-L 17? Does anyone have any thoughts on this? Can anyone save me from myself and this idea?

DrBryanJ

Re: Mast support pole in cabin of Glen-L 17

Post by DrBryanJ » Fri May 05, 2017 11:12 am