question about wire harness

Wiring your boat, How to Wire Lights/Accessories, All things electrical other than actually powering your boat by electric motors.

Moderator: Bill Edmundson

Post Reply
User avatar
DrBryanJ
Posts: 1221
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2011 6:05 am
Location: Pompton Plains, NJ

question about wire harness

Post by DrBryanJ »

I am working on side boxes and carlings. Before I attach anything I want to drill whatever holes I need to run wires. My control will be mounted on top of side box, so ignition wires and trim wires need to go through boxes. Wires for gauges need to run behind the carling. If I get an evinrude wire harness all the wires run together. Can the wire harness be taken apart so the different wires run through the appropriate areas? If not, do I build my own harness? Do I used some other harness to get gauge wires from near controls to behind dash? (Would have to run forward through side box to bulkhead at frame 4, up and back to dash.)
Bryan

Building a malahini "Mona Lisa"

My wife said "If I build a boat, she's getting a divorce."
We're still happily married, but now she just wants "the dam boat out of the garage."

User avatar
galamb
Posts: 838
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 1:37 am
Location: Inverary, Ontario - Cuddy Sport (modified)
Contact:

Re: question about wire harness

Post by galamb »

I used to "prep" boats for sale and am trying to envision what you are describing here.

The only (gauge) that needs to be fed from the main harness on an outboard is the tach and the auxilary power (to power gauges etc). The remainder of the harness is connected at the control box.

On every control (at least in the past 15 years or so) that I have ever rigged up there is always a (tach wire - typically purple) and an Aux power (red) with a bullet connector coming off the main harness at the control box to allow a (remote) connection.

If your control does not have the ignition switch/trim&tilt button integral, or you are choosing to mount them on the dash (or elsewhere), then you would make your own mini-harness to splice into the main harness at the control.

Since both the T&T and ignition are simply controlling solenoids you could easily get away with 14 gauge wire.

(I hope my explanation gets at what you were asking)
Graham

Yes, Plywood is "real" wood :)

A "professional" is someone who gets paid for their work - it doesn't necessarily mean they are good at it :)

User avatar
DrBryanJ
Posts: 1221
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2011 6:05 am
Location: Pompton Plains, NJ

Re: question about wire harness

Post by DrBryanJ »

The control has the trim switch, but no ignition. I plan on mounting the ignition near the control so no problem. The harness also has a connection for system check tach and another for trim gauge. SO best to make a mini harness to run from control to dash? Makes sense. Where do wires for oil pressure, temp, and volts come from? I am planning on a system check tach, a multifunction gauge and a gps speedo. Also need a trim gauge and to round it out a clock. (three large and two small gauges) Depth will be on a fish finder/chart plotter also mounted near the control. I guess I could rely on the idiot lights in the system check gauge and just have the trim and fuel in separate gauges. (Two large and two small gauges)
Bryan

Building a malahini "Mona Lisa"

My wife said "If I build a boat, she's getting a divorce."
We're still happily married, but now she just wants "the dam boat out of the garage."

User avatar
Bill Edmundson
Posts: 11978
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2005 6:45 am
Location: Birmingham, AL, USA
Contact:

Re: question about wire harness

Post by Bill Edmundson »

The fish finder/chart plotter and gps speed are all on the same panel. All they need is switched hot wire. That can be off the ignition switch or independent. They don't have to feed from the engine.

Bill
Mini -Tug, KH Tahoe 19 & Bartender 24 - There can be no miracle recoveries without first screwing up.
Tahoe 19 Build

User avatar
galamb
Posts: 838
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 1:37 am
Location: Inverary, Ontario - Cuddy Sport (modified)
Contact:

Re: question about wire harness

Post by galamb »

Oil Pressure and (block) Temp are not "typically" included in the main harness and there may not even be a (harness connection) for them at the outboard end of things.

While their is a temp sensor for the (guardian/motor protection system on board the motor) it is generally not equipped to send info to a remote device - ditto any oil pressure or oil level sensor on outboards. They typically feed an alarm (module) that is integral to the motor itself and not for remote monitiors.

Depending on the outboard model you can get "add on" temp/oil sensors that must be installed separately from (what is there) if you want to feed remote gauges. Those often are available as a "kit" that includes it's own wiring.

If the motor is equipped with the ability to feed one of the "all inclusive" (multifunction gauge), at least with Evinrude, you generally tell the dealer "before" they do their "prep" so that they can turn that (function) on and then you would require a "different" (optional) harness that WILL provide the necessary feeds.

So it kinda depends on whether you will use a "factory" multi-function gauge or you want to rig up your own gauges (maybe you want 6 different chrome trimmed with white backs or whatever). The later would require additional sensors and their own harness (self made or acquired).

Your clock, voltmeter and gps speedo would only require a (splice) into the main harness. The volt/gps could be fed off the accessory feed (key on) but you probably want the clock on the "live feed" - so spliced into the "hot line" going to the keyswitch so that the clock would run "all the time".

Not all outboard models are capable of feeding a multi-function gauge (typically restricted to larger horsepowers). If it is NOT factory equipped there is however, individual sensors for temp, water pressure, oil pressure, oil pump motion sensor (to indicate if its running) that can be purchased as individual (generic in many cases) units. You would however have to fashion your own harness up to the dash from the sensors themselves.
Graham

Yes, Plywood is "real" wood :)

A "professional" is someone who gets paid for their work - it doesn't necessarily mean they are good at it :)

User avatar
DrBryanJ
Posts: 1221
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2011 6:05 am
Location: Pompton Plains, NJ

Re: question about wire harness

Post by DrBryanJ »

I'm a little confused by all that, but essentially I should not plan on a volt, oil, or temp gauge. So a four gauge dash it will be. Tach with system check, speedo, trim, fuel. Thanks for the info.
Bryan

Building a malahini "Mona Lisa"

My wife said "If I build a boat, she's getting a divorce."
We're still happily married, but now she just wants "the dam boat out of the garage."

User avatar
chugalug
Posts: 1456
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2014 5:01 pm
Location: top of mn.

Re: question about wire harness

Post by chugalug »

On my Yamaha shifter,there is 4 extra wires -one is for tach,one is for keyed accessories(fuel guage) I'm planning on adding voltmeter to that maybe by using small bus bar.the other 2 are for remote trim tilt I think. :D
Working on regular-sized Bo-Jest


"If it's not crooked,It's not mine

User avatar
DrBryanJ
Posts: 1221
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2011 6:05 am
Location: Pompton Plains, NJ

Re: question about wire harness

Post by DrBryanJ »

System_Check_Wiring_Harness.jpg
This is the wire harness for the e-tec engine
Bryan

Building a malahini "Mona Lisa"

My wife said "If I build a boat, she's getting a divorce."
We're still happily married, but now she just wants "the dam boat out of the garage."

JimmY
Posts: 1071
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2016 11:08 am
Location: Brighton, MI

Re: question about wire harness

Post by JimmY »

Just make sure the holes are larger than any connectors!
-Jim
Nothing says poor craftsmanship like wrinkles in your duct tape!

User avatar
mrintense
Posts: 3780
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 11:22 am
Location: Austin, Texas
Contact:

Re: question about wire harness

Post by mrintense »

I'm starting to work through the electrical for the cabin and have been wondering about all the helm electrical. I can see that before getting too far into this, I had better spend some additional time researching. I was not aware that the additional sensors were not fed from the outboard harness.
Carl

Crafting a classically styled Vera Cruise

Clipper Boating

Post Reply

Return to “Electric Power & Systems”