Electrical systems on a cruiser

Wiring your boat, How to Wire Lights/Accessories, All things electrical other than actually powering your boat by electric motors.

Moderator: Bill Edmundson

Scot2640

Electrical systems on a cruiser

Postby Scot2640 » Thu Aug 04, 2016 8:19 pm

Going along with my previous post on hot water: my subject line is a whopper of a question, I know.

For extended periods at sea how does a boat generate electricity for small appliances and other electronics? On a craft under 30' are you required to keep the engine running at all times or does some kind of battery bank or generator system come into play?

I've worked with a/c in residential applications and am fairly comfortable doing rough and finish electrical work. I am by no means an expert or licensed electrician so the science behind electrical systems escapes me.

Understandably my question is a broad one, perhaps you folks could recommend a book or two I should look to pick up.
A ship is safe in the harbor, but that's not what ships are for.

http://www.seadreamerproject.com
http://www.youtube.com/c/SixPointsWoodWorks

raymacke

Re: Electrical systems on a cruiser

Postby raymacke » Thu Aug 04, 2016 10:18 pm

There are usually three main components involved - 1. House battery bank 2. Generator and 3. the Engine.

On my True Grit we have two 6 volt golf cart batteries connected in series to create a 12v "house" bank. This is used for our normal 12v loads like lighting, fans, bilge pumps, laptop, am/fm radio, TV etc. This bank is in addition to and isolated from the 12v starting battery. I also have space allocated to add two more 6V batteries for a second bank when we start doing longer cruises IF I feel it is needed. But for our current long weekend outings (usually 4 nights) the one bank has been working OK.