1/0 wire

Wiring your boat, How to Wire Lights/Accessories, All things electrical other than actually powering your boat by electric motors.

Moderator: Bill Edmundson

Post Reply
User avatar
chugalug
Posts: 1201
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2014 5:01 pm
Location: top of mn.

1/0 wire

Post by chugalug » Wed Jul 18, 2018 6:07 pm

is 1/0 wire big enough for primary from battery 7 ft for'ward to 150 amp breaker ,then another 7 ft to for'ward busbar? :roll: Was looking for 0 size but had to go bigger.
Working on regular-sized Bo-Jest


"If it's not crooked,It's not mine

lakeracer69
Posts: 192
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2004 8:14 am
Location: NH

Re: 1/0 wire

Post by lakeracer69 » Wed Jul 18, 2018 6:17 pm

Try a welding supply house. The ground wires for MIG/TIG welding are in that size range.
As Conan the Barbarian says, " It's not how hard you can hit, it's how hard you can get hit and remain standing".

User avatar
chugalug
Posts: 1201
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2014 5:01 pm
Location: top of mn.

Re: 1/0 wire

Post by chugalug » Wed Jul 18, 2018 6:55 pm

:D Am using size 2 welder ground wire for common ground to forward busbar.wanted bigger red for primary.site I was looking at ,mentioned 0.thought 1/0 would work.just don't want to have problems.Curious what Bill used on his Bartender. :D
Working on regular-sized Bo-Jest


"If it's not crooked,It's not mine

User avatar
hoodman
Posts: 1911
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2011 8:48 am
Location: Lafayette, IN

Re: 1/0 wire

Post by hoodman » Wed Jul 18, 2018 6:56 pm

It depends on what you are powering but I would hope so!
Matt

Building a Geronimo......!
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=25139

JimmY
Posts: 665
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2016 11:08 am
Location: Brighton, MI

Re: 1/0 wire

Post by JimmY » Wed Jul 18, 2018 7:09 pm

According to the calculator on bestboatwire.com, 150A over a 14ft run on this size wire will drop 0.424V or 3.5%.

Are you really going to need to weld while out on your boat? :lol:
-Jim
Nothing says poor craftsmanship like wrinkles in your duct tape!

User avatar
steveh41
Posts: 671
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 7:16 pm
Location: Catheys Valley, CA
Contact:

Re: 1/0 wire

Post by steveh41 » Wed Jul 18, 2018 7:30 pm

Hey chug,

Here's a wire table that might come in handy (I think Carl posted this earlier):
DC_wire_selection_chartlg.jpg
Steve
The longest journey begins with a single step… then repeat as necessary!

User avatar
chugalug
Posts: 1201
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2014 5:01 pm
Location: top of mn.

Re: 1/0 wire

Post by chugalug » Wed Jul 18, 2018 7:32 pm

I know it's probably overkill. positive busbar will have anchor winch and fuse panels and switches for everything.got alot of smaller wire(mostly duplex)in various sizes for bilge pumps,horn ,lights and other.thanks for the chart.(not sure I understand it tho)
Working on regular-sized Bo-Jest


"If it's not crooked,It's not mine

User avatar
steveh41
Posts: 671
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 7:16 pm
Location: Catheys Valley, CA
Contact:

Re: 1/0 wire

Post by steveh41 » Wed Jul 18, 2018 7:51 pm

Your anchor winch is probably the biggest current draw so you could figure the wire gauge to the positive bus based on that value... negative bus the same. To use the chart, take the "round trip" distance (positive + negative leads) down the left hand side of the chart, then go across to the right to the current column and find the wire gauge (will be different for "non critical" versus "critical" loads). Works pretty well and takes into account both ampacity and voltage drop.

Regards,

Steve
The longest journey begins with a single step… then repeat as necessary!

User avatar
Bill Edmundson
Posts: 11191
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2005 6:45 am
Location: Birmingham, AL, USA
Contact:

Re: 1/0 wire

Post by Bill Edmundson » Thu Jul 19, 2018 7:40 am

I think I used 4awg to and from the engine and main switch. I can cross over as a back-up for the starter battery. From the switch to the main dc panel I go to a 50 amp fuse then to the panel with 6. The secondary dc panel and the main panel are linked with 6. I have 3 ground blocks. They are linked with 6. The heaviest dc loads that I have are the VHF radio, water pump, and the head. I doubt I'll be flushing, showering, and using the radio all at the same time. Although, I could :!: :roll:

Bill
Mini -Tug, KH Tahoe 19 & Bartender 24 - There can be no miracle recoveries without first screwing up.
Tahoe 19 Build

User avatar
chugalug
Posts: 1201
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2014 5:01 pm
Location: top of mn.

Re: 1/0 wire

Post by chugalug » Thu Jul 19, 2018 9:49 am

Thanks ,Bill and Steve.My main concern was the length and size of wire to circuit breakers from batteries(about 15 ft).dash switches have fuses on panel.was thinking on running heavy wire from battery switch in rear up to the pos and neg busbars .then smaller wire to each panel then off to loads.Have 150 amp breaker to put on positive wire where accessable.I have the Glen-L electrical plans.
Working on regular-sized Bo-Jest


"If it's not crooked,It's not mine

User avatar
hoodman
Posts: 1911
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2011 8:48 am
Location: Lafayette, IN

Re: 1/0 wire

Post by hoodman » Thu Jul 19, 2018 6:32 pm

I think you should have a main breaker near your power source (battery). Maybe that's your plan already.
Matt

Building a Geronimo......!
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=25139

User avatar
chugalug
Posts: 1201
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2014 5:01 pm
Location: top of mn.

Re: 1/0 wire

Post by chugalug » Sat Jul 21, 2018 1:53 pm

:D The Starting battery and the house battery go to battery switch first .then common battery + cable goes to 150 amp breaker mounted near batteries,then off to + busbar mounted on back of steering bulkhead. :D
Working on regular-sized Bo-Jest


"If it's not crooked,It's not mine

Post Reply

Return to “Electric Power & Systems”