How do you put the oak stripes in the mohog?

See: "Useful Information and Suppliers" for a list of lumber and plywood suppliers. Also see: "Wood & Plywood Information". Both located in the left-hand column of the Home page.

Moderator: Bill Edmundson

Dave Beem

How do you put the oak stripes in the mohog?

Post by Dave Beem »

ok this may sound a bit stuped! I have seen alot of boats with this stripes of maybe oak in the mohog plywood? OK I am an electronics tech not a big wood working type but In plywood how do you put these strips of white wood in there?? are these guyes wood masters? or can a simple guy like me do this with basic shop tools? hey this looks so great I want to do this to my boat but have no clue! except routering it out and inlaying it? please help ?
Dave

Dave Grason

Post by Dave Grason »

Ok, first of all, I haven't done this myself personally. But with my new upcoming project, I plan on getting the nostalgic "feature" lines in the mahogany as well. To me, it's just not quite "right" without these lines. But I've been studying on this for almost 2 decades and I feel totally confident in my ability to do this.

I have a coffee table book telling the story of Chris Craft. In the old days, they used to use mahogany planking for the decks. The planks would be 3/4 of an inch thick or more. Then each board had a dado cut in it to one side that would later be filled with caulk. That's one way of doing it.