Wood on a fiberglass hull

See: "Useful Information and Suppliers" for a list of lumber and plywood suppliers. Also see: "Wood & Plywood Information". Both located in the left-hand column of the Home page.

Moderator: Bill Edmundson

kevinw

Wood on a fiberglass hull

Post by kevinw » Sat Jul 15, 2017 12:06 pm

I have a old Ski tique that I bought cheap with a brand new engine. I have a 36 ft Chris Craft woody that I have been working on for over 20 years(all mahogany). I have an idea... The hull on the Ski Tique is pretty banged up so I'm thinking about refinishing the hull. The idea I have is creating a wooden transom for it. I think that would be really pretty. I went on to think about covering the whole boat with wood. It wouldn't be difficult and would make a old ugly boat into a beautiful boat. I'm not sure how I would go about covering it though and wonder if epoxy bonded wood on fiberglass would take the pounding without letting go.

vupilot

Re: Wood on a fiberglass hull

Post by vupilot » Sat Jul 15, 2017 8:24 pm

https://www.glen-l.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=16220

You might find the thread linked above interesting reading. Not quite the same idea but similar.

PeterG

Post by PeterG » Sat Jul 15, 2017 9:51 pm

You would do better to build a Glen L boat using the Ski Tique as a parts donor boat :D We all can help with that.
Seriously!
You're talking applying a wood veneer to a boat hull, that's a huge job, even on a 16 or 17 foot hull. I am familiar with Correct Craft boats and the hull shape is very different from most wood hulls. My concern is reliably bonding the wood to the fiberglass. You would have to grind off the gelcoat and bond the wood with epoxy. Not sure how would you clamp/hold it in place, vacuum bagging? Then you would need to apply a fiberglass layer on the wood to protect it. Okay, so do-able, but all the while making the boat heavier.
MUCH more fun to build a boat...
Murphy's Law: Anything that can go wrong, will go wrong.