First boat

See: "Useful Information and Suppliers" for a list of lumber and plywood suppliers. Also see: "Wood & Plywood Information". Both located in the left-hand column of the Home page.

Moderator: Bill Edmundson

flabio

First boat

Post by flabio » Wed Jan 09, 2008 8:34 pm

I have wanted to build a boat myself since I was in high school and watched one of our neighbors build one. Now that I have more free time I plan on building a bullet boat sometime this year. My question is since I have little woodworking experience would it be helpful to take an adult education class to learn some basics?
I also would like to have a list of woodworking tools that will help in the construction.

FDMSIV

Post by FDMSIV » Wed Jan 09, 2008 9:03 pm

In my opinion, the best teacher is yourself. I have learned more just by doing than any instructor could have taught. I would only suggest taking a course if you are uncomfortable working with power tools and unaware of the danger they pose is used incorrectly. There are no complicated joints (as far as Glen-L boats), pretty much just a square peg and round hole type of stuff... :wink:

As far as tools are concerned, I used the following

Table Saw
Circular Saw (very rarely)
Jig Saw
Random Orbit Sander (4")
Angle Grinder (4")
Belt Sander
Small and Medium Hand Plane (mostly the smaller one)
Electric Drill
Yankee Driver (Excellent tool in my opinion)

If you do not have it already, patience is about the only thing you really need to have. There have been days when I really do consider taking a match to the project, but you just have to keep on going.

basilkies

Post by basilkies » Thu Jan 10, 2008 6:14 pm

I built a boat on my own my wood experience was very minimal, mostly hacking out shapes to cover with foam and material. Once I copied a drawer face on a built in drawer to fix it. Then the occasional stray door jam and door job.