report on The Gathering

Dale K.

report on The Gathering

Postby Dale K. » Sat Oct 27, 2007 8:28 pm

I'm the newbie here but I'm the first one back from the Gathering (sort of); so I'm going to take the liberty to report on the event (sort of)

The reason I'm the first one back and reporting is because I didn't quite make it. I got right to the "threshold"; but not through the door. Here's the story:

I left Dalton about 1:00pm EDT. I had to make a stop at a Chattanooga hospital to see one of my members (I'm a pastor) who had surgery on Thursday. Did that and hit the road. My wife and I stopped at the Cracker Barrel in Fort Payne to eat an early supper. We both ordered their special for the day - chicken breast cooked with apples, cheddar cheese and crunched up Ritz crackers. Was pretty good and we got away from the restaurant a little after 3:00 CDT.

We headed west on Rt. 35 to south on Rt. 75. Then we hit Rt. 400 which brought us into Rt. 227. In my mind I could smell the water and see all the beautiful hand-crafted boats. We had planned to stop at the park, meet those already there, leave my boat and trailer somewhere and go into town for the play at the theater and then bunk at a town motel (OK I'll say it - the Super 8 ).

I'm cruising down Hwy 227 and it goes from 2 lanes to 4. Man we're really cruising. All of a sudden I see the sign that tells me Rt. 227 makes a left turn. I quickly glance over my left shoulder and change lanes and then over into the left turn lane. There are two big stop signs to let me know to stop. I see the back of two more big stop signs for the oncoming two lanes. I notice that we are stopping for a 2 lane road. I subconsciously think this must be a 4-way stop. (I'm not sure I can ever remember a 4 lane divided road stopping for a 2 lane road before).