gaps between joints?

Problems, how to use. Also see: "EPOXY", in the left-hand column of the Home page.

Moderators: Bill Edmundson, ttownshaw

john mac

gaps between joints?

Post by john mac » Mon Apr 23, 2012 2:21 am

Hi everyone, i've been reading up the use of epoxy in boat building. I'm about to start my plywood on Douglas fir cabin cruiser but have a few questions. I'd always been told that joints need to be very tight for epoxy, but some people say to use thickener and don't over clamp the joints? Also would westsystems 105 and 205 do for the project, bearing in mind i'm not an expert joiner so the joints won't be as tight as i'd like.

tsmitherman

Re: gaps between joints?

Post by tsmitherman » Mon Apr 23, 2012 5:32 am

John Mac,
Epoxy is very forgiving and most people believe it actually holds better with a small gap(s) in the joint. You certainly want to be sure you don't over-clamp the joint. Light pressure is enough.

Good luck on your build.
Tom
------------------------------
36' 1969 Willard Aft-Pilothouse Trawler
Blog: www.genesisboat.blogspot.com

Knot-So-Fast (BoJest) SOLD

"It's amazing what one can do when one doesn't know what one can't do." - Garfield

john mac

Post by john mac » Mon Apr 23, 2012 11:50 am

cheers tsmitherson, have you any experience with west systems?

Bill Edmundson

Post by Bill Edmundson » Mon Apr 23, 2012 12:53 pm

West is considered the standard by many people. But, Poxy Shield and System 3 are equals.

Bill
Mini -Tug, KH Tahoe 19 & Bartender 24 - There can be no miracle recoveries without first screwing up.
Tahoe 19 Build

neel thompson

Post by neel thompson » Mon Apr 23, 2012 1:01 pm