Epoxy Cost

Problems, how to use. Also see: "EPOXY", in the left-hand column of the Home page.

Moderators: Bill Edmundson, ttownshaw

harborma

Epoxy Cost

Postby harborma » Fri Mar 20, 2015 10:42 am

Hi! Boatbuilding novice here getting my hands dirty. I am currently building my first boat, a Stitch and Glue Devlin Polliwog, and I'm just about at the stage to start epoxy and fiberglassing (This will be my first introduction to fiberglassing).

My plans call for 2 gallons of epoxy resin, 1 gallon of hardener, 3.5 yards of 50" wide 6oz fiberglass cloth, and a roll of 6oz 4" fiberglass tape. Today, I went to the local West Marine to gather materials, and the West epoxy resin is about $99 per gallon, and about $50 per half gallon of the hardener, so $300 for the resin and hardener alone. That being said, I left empty handed as I wasn't exactly prepared to spend that much money.

Are those prices the norm? Does anybody have any advice for where to purchase epoxy?

Thank you!
Attachments
Schermata 2015-03-20 alle 13.40.36.png

jamundsen

Re: Epoxy Cost

Postby jamundsen » Fri Mar 20, 2015 11:45 am

that's about right for epoxy.
John Amundsen
Monte Carlo
Lakeland,Fl

Work tends to get in the way of boat building

chugalug

Postby chugalug » Fri Mar 20, 2015 1:32 pm

:D Glen-l sells some good resin and stuff.I suppose it depends on where you're at for shipping costs.I'm happy with Glen-l's epoxy.
Working on regular-sized Bo-Jest

"If it's not crooked,It's not mine

vupilot

Postby vupilot » Fri Mar 20, 2015 3:25 pm