Glen-L Poxy-Grip question

Problems, how to use. Also see: "EPOXY", in the left-hand column of the Home page.

Moderators: Bill Edmundson, ttownshaw

Mark-NJ

Glen-L Poxy-Grip question

Post by Mark-NJ » Sat Feb 06, 2016 8:10 pm

I'm getting ready to begin construction of a Glen-L Ski-Tow, starting with the frames. Epoxy seems to be the way to go, and I'm happy to support Glen-L.

From what I read, "regular epoxy" isn't good for structural adhesion because it's too thin. Thickening the "West system" epoxy with additives seems like a pain, compared to getting the Glen-L Poxy-Grip, which (if I understand correctly) is already thick enough for construction.

Question 1: Clamping. I've read that tight clamping isn't required, because this thick epoxy can fill gaps. But as a woodworker, I always strive for well-mated surfaces, and clamping in place is just what I do. After all, what is "loose clamping", anyway? So thinking about something like the chine-to-frame joint, how do I clamp the chine in place in any fashion other than tight? For that matter, does it matter? I mean, it says "tight clamping not required", but can I tightly clamp? Is it a problem to do so? Or, if I apply epoxy followed by a screw holding it in place, that qualifies as "tight", right? Is tight clamping a problem?

Question 2: Poxy-Grip is mixed 1:1, but that's unclear to me. Is it mixed 1:1 by volume our weight? The Glen-L website doesn't say. Since the resin has a very different density from the amine hardener, the question seems (to me, anyway) to be a critical one. My desire & intent is to mix by weight, but I don't know if the 1:1 ratio is by weight or volume. Anyone know?

And if the ratio IS by volume, what would the ratio be, based on weight?

Thanks for reading!

Mark
Last edited by Mark-NJ on Sun Feb 07, 2016 8:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

gdcarpenter

Re: Glen-L Poxy-Grip question

Post by gdcarpenter » Sun Feb 07, 2016 7:11 am