Break Bend Testing Aluminium

Steel and aluminum boatbuilding. See: "Boatbuilding Methods", in left-hand column of the Home page, for information about alloys.

Moderator: billy c

argonon

Break Bend Testing Aluminium

Postby argonon » Tue Feb 19, 2013 2:11 pm

Hello All,
I'm new to welding & this is my first post on this forum. The learning curve has been steep but enjoyable at the same time. I am about to embark on building a plate aluminum boat out of 5083 plate of varying thicknesses, 5mm, 4mm & 3mm. Before I do though, I want to try some break bend testing on my welds but need some advice. Kevin Morin has posted some great articles which have been very beneficial but I want to understand beveling & why it should or shouldn't be used for 'T' joint fillet welds.

Here is a link to Kevin's great post;
viewtopic.php?f=7&t=16564

Kevin demonstrates the point that beveled plates make for stronger welds. What I am trying to understand is how important are beveled welds on 4 or 5mm plate? Most text books only require bevels on much thicker plate. Will a better bonding between both parent metals & the weld occur with bevels rather than without?

I will post up some photos of my weld cross sections & 'T' joints in time, would really appreciate some feedback from experienced aluminum welders.

Cheers,
Bill.
I have to keep telling myself, "it's not a race".

Lowka53

Re: Break Bend Testing Aluminium

Postby Lowka53 » Wed Feb 20, 2013 9:59 pm