Norwester

Steel and aluminum boatbuilding. See: "Boatbuilding Methods", in left-hand column of the Home page, for information about alloys.

Moderator: billy c

Lucian

Norwester

Postby Lucian » Sat Mar 30, 2013 2:22 pm

Hello to anyone, who would like answer my question!
Question: What type of aluminum grade can be used to build a 24' to 28' norwester?
I just discovered this informative site and the fact that you can actually build your own boat and i'm new to all the things that I read in here. Iwould like to build a norwester and I read on the plan that you can use 3/16 for the hull. I know the most popular aluminum grade is 5052, 5083, 5086. In my area, Toronto, is hard to get 5086. So I tought maybe I can upgrade 1/4 5052 or 5/16 and build the hull and 3/16 for the side. Is this ok , or i should get the 5086?

Bill Edmundson

Re: Norwester

Postby Bill Edmundson » Sat Mar 30, 2013 5:06 pm

Lucian

Welcome!

My fuel tanks are 5052 H32. The motor mounts in my runabout are 6061 T6. I don't know off hand what is best for "planking". But, we do have some guys here that really know aluminum. If they don't come in soon, we'll give you names and you can send them a PM (Personal Mail).

Bill
Mini -Tug, KH Tahoe 19 & Bartender 24 - There can be no miracle recoveries without first screwing up.
Tahoe 19 Build

kens

Postby kens » Sat Mar 30, 2013 5:57 pm

I think his name is Kevin Morin. He is a forum member and knowledge of aluminum.
Oak is over rated, everything about it takes extra time; then it warps, splits or checks !!! :roll:

Kevin Morin

Re: Norwester Alloy Choice for Building

Postby Kevin Morin » Mon Apr 01, 2013 10:25 am