E-10

About inboard or outboard motors.

Moderator: Bill Edmundson

upspirate

E-10

Postby upspirate » Wed Apr 22, 2009 3:10 pm

Anyone please post their experience with E-10 fuel.

I'm just getting into researching this subject.

I didn't use the boats last year, and since I have,they introduced E-10 here and I've heard lots of problems with it.

Just wondering what problems people have had,how they dealt with them,and preventive measures,modifications to fuel systems, etc

I was at the shop & they showed me two gallon jars with E-10 that separated,how you could shake it to remix & how fast it would fall out of suspension.They said it wasn't water,but the ethanol& gas that were separating in that case.

I'veheard from several sources that the separation can come as soon as 30 days

I know the best solution is to use the boat everyday,but.... :( :? :wink: :roll:
Last edited by upspirate on Wed Apr 22, 2009 3:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

upspirate

Re: E-10

Postby upspirate » Wed Apr 22, 2009 3:16 pm

BTW my boats( other than the sailboat w/ diesel) are 2 stroke outboards with separate oil injection tanks,not fuel/gas pre-mix.

One is a Merc Optimax with EFI,another is a Merc with carbs,and I guess I do have some other outboards with pre-mix...just haven't got to them yet.

Any thoughts on these and inboards too.

Caber-Feidh

Postby Caber-Feidh » Wed Apr 22, 2009 9:53 pm