Console Skif vs Scrambler

Designs for inboard or outboard power

Moderator: BruceDow

Baron

Console Skif vs Scrambler

Post by Baron »

Console Skiff vs Scrambler:
-which would be the fastest build?
-Which would be the best in Late afternoon chop on an open bay?
-Which could take the occasional rock hit in some of the rocky rivers around here?
-Would you take either onto the ocean in good weather?

Good morning and happy new year to all. Allot has been said and written about these two boats but few owners have written extensively about their operational experiences. I sold my 238DLV Carolina Skiff a few years ago because i didn't like to launch it alone and also because it was so big that it couldn't be taken all the places i wanted to go. I've been dreaming of a homebuilt for 25 years and its kind of funny, there are allot of plans to choose from, its hard to decide which to build. Furthermore, it obvious, different designs are often purpose built for different conditions. To this point I boat in two extremely different areas, the Delaware river and Barnegat and Raritan Bays, and so its difficult to decide which design best fits my needs. I rarely go out on the ocean but I like to fish around the inlets. While on the River there is a constantly shifting shallow bottom and occasionally the rocks chase after me :D
If you have experience with the above conditions in these boats (or similar boats) please share your adventures and recommendations.
Thanks in advance for your responses.
Baron
Baron

Re: Console Skif vs Scrambler

Post by Baron »

I wish I could spend the whole day everyday fitting and playing with wood. Ironically I own a small sawmill operation but don't produce the types of lumber appropriate for boatbuilding. I've thought that the scrambler would be cool in plank-on-frame. Heavy but cool.